Winners of the 2016 ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival competitions announced

audience in movie theatre watching a person with a microphone in front of a screen

NRW competition (photo from the ZEBRA website)

The biannual ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival, the world’s largest and most prestigious such event, has just concluded in Münster, and they wasted no time in updating their website with the results. I hope they won’t mind if I copy and paste the entire English-language text of the anouncement here, but do go visit their website when you get a chance. Among other goodies, they have photo galleries from each day of the festival.

The ZEBRA Poetry Film Festival Münster | Berlin announced its winners on 30 October 2016. 80 films were nominated from the 1,100 entries from 86 countries and shown in the international and German-language competition. There was also a North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) competition featuring a further 18 films. More than 220 poetry films were featured in the competitions and programmes of the festival, which ran from 27 to 30 October in the Schloßtheater Cinema in Münster.

The award winners were picked by the festival jury. On this year’s jury were filmmaker and festival organiser Juliane Fuchs, Belgian video and sound artist Marc Neys and poet Sabine Scho. The prizes are worth a total of € 12,000.

The ZEBRA Prize for the Best Poetry Film, donated by the Haus für Poesie:

Off the Trail (GB 2015)
Director: Jacob Cartwright & Nick Jordan
Poem: “Endless streams and mountains” by Gary Snyder

The Goethe Film Prize is donated by the Goethe Institute. It goes in equal parts to:

Goldfish (D 2016)
Director: Rain Kencana
Poem: “Golden Fish“, by Shuntaro Tanikawa

Process:Breath (N 2016)
Director: Line Klungseth Johansen
Poem: “Process:Breath“ by Line Klungseth Johansen

Special mention: PLEASE LISTEN! (RU 2014) by Natalia Alfutova (poem: “Please Listen“ by Vladimir Mayakovsky)

The Prize for the Best Film for Tolerance is donated by the German Foreign Ministry (Auswärtiges Amt). It goes in equal parts to:

Steel and Air (USA 2016)
Director: Chris & Nick Libbey
Poem: “Steel and Air“ by John Ashbery

Hail the Bodhisattva of Collected Junk (TWN 2015)
Director: Ye Mimi
Poem: “Hail the Bodhisattva of Collected Junk“ by Ye Mimi

Special mention: Calling All (P 2015) by Manuel Vilarinho (poem: „Chamada Geral“ by Mário Henrique Leiria)

The “Ritter Sport Prize” in the German language competition, donated by Alfred Ritter GmbH und Co KG:

The wolf fearing the wolf (D 2014)
Director: Juliane Jaschnow
Poem: “Die Angst des Wolfs vor dem Wolf“ by Stefan Petermann

Special mention: Vacancy (D 2016) by Urte Zintler (poem: „Leerstelle“ by Hilde Domin).

The audience prize in the NRW competition, donated by Deutsche Lufthansa AG:

Birds on wires (D 2014)
Director: Dean Ruddock
Poem: „Vögel auf Stromleitungen“ by Dean Ruddock

The ZEBRINO Prize for the Poetry Film for Children and Young People went to:

Autumn (F 2016)
Director: Hugo de Faucompret
Poem: „Automne“ by Guillaume Apollinaire
The award winning film was chosen by the young audience. The prize is worth € 500.

The winning films will be shown in Berlin at the ZEBRA Poetry Film Gala on 16 November 2016, 8 pm, as part of the interfilm – International Short Film Festival Berlin. Location: Hackesche Höfe Cinema, Rosenthaler Str. 40-41, 10178 Berlin

The festival was founded in 2002 by the Haus für Poesie, formerly the Literaturwerkstatt Berlin, and is the world’s biggest platform for poetry films, which are short films based on poems.

The festival was organised and hosted by the Filmwerkstatt Münster in co-operation with the Haus für Poesie. It was made possible by the support from the Kunststiftung NRW, the LWL Kulturstiftung, the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the City of Münster, the Stiftung der Sparkasse Münsterland Ost, the Kulturrucksack NRW, and from the Consulate General of the Netherlands and the Flemish Representation. The festival is also supported by the Münstersche Filmtheater-Betriebe, by GUCC grafik & film, by the Factory Hotel, by interfilm – International Short Film Festival and by the filmclub münster.

Congratulations to all the winners, as well as to everyone accepted for screening at the festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.